The Second Julio Palacios International Symposium
Synergies in the Biosciences

11-12 July 2018

Auditorium University of A Coruña

Rúa Maestranza, 9 - 15001 A Coruña (Galicia, Spain)


The Second Julio Palacios International Symposium, is oriented towards biosciences from an experimental and theoretical viewpoint, since Julio Palacios, in his last years dedicated his research time to investigation in medicine. This “bio” orientation will be common denominator of the speaker’s subjects, hence looking for a synergy between chemistry, physics and mathematics with medicine. The goal is to invite very high-level experimental and theoretical scientists, which will postulate theoretical models and describe experiments for a better understanding of the biological processes taking place in Nature.


Bases and description: Meet a maximum of 100 highly qualified students as assistants. The interaction between students and speakers will be a priority in this symposium. A poster session will be organized where students are invited to present their works, to be discussed and commented with speakers and assistants, with a proper and relaxed environment for discussion in this multidisciplinary scientific event.





INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMMUNICATIONS: Abstracts for posters can be optionally submitted after registration and will be selected through an evaluation process carried out by the Scientific Committee, as a function of their quality, origininality and impact, as well as by the multidisciplinarity.

CONTRIBUTIONS. Abstracts for the posters should be written in English, according to this TEMPLATE, and sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For information on the poster format click here


Download Flyer of the Symposium

Low cost lodging at the conference: Students Residence Siglo XXI (A Coruña)

We acknowledge the invaluable  contribution from Ramon Areces Foundation to the organization of this symposium. 


Invited Speakers

Neil L. Allan (University of Bristol, UK) – BP Award of the Royal Society

Tomás Alarcón (ICREA - Center for Mathematical Research, Barcelona)

Lluis Blanch (Institute of Research and Innovation Parc Taulí, Sabadell, Spain)

Miguel Canales (UAM - La Paz Hospital, Madrid)

María A. Jiménez (IQFR-CSIC, Madrid)

Raphael D. Levine (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel) – Wolf Prize 1988

Philippe Maître (Université Paris Sud, Paris, France)

José L. Mascareñas (University of Santiago de Compostela) – Gold Medal RSEQ 2015

María D. Mayán (Instituto de Investigación Biomédica, Hospital Universitario, A Coruña)

Ginés Morata (Centro de Biología Molecular, CSIC-UAM) – Prínce of Asturias Award 2007

Juan J. Novoa (Universidad de Barcelona) – Scientific Excellence Award RSEQ 2016

Françoise Remacle (University of Liège, Liège, Belgium) - EPS Emmy Noether Distinction Spring-Summer 2017 for Women in Physics

Maria Eugenia Sanz (King´s College London, London, UK)


Organizing Committee

Moisés Canle-López (University of La Coruña)

Gerardo Delgado-Barrio (CSIC)

Josep Mª Oliva-Enrich (CSIC)

J. Arturo Santaballa (Universidad de La Coruña)


Scientific Committee

José Baselga (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, USA)

Moisés Canle-López (University of La Coruña, Spain)

Ignacio Cirac (Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany)

Gerardo Delgado-Barrio (CSIC, Madrid, Spain)

José Elguero (CSIC, Madrid, Spain)

Juan Hermoso (CSIC, Madrid, Spain)

Philippe Hiberty (University of Paris-Sud, France)

Douglas J. Klein (Texas A&M Univesity, Galveston, USA)

Josef Michl (Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic)

Santi Nonell (Ramón Llull University, Barcelona, Spain)

Josep M. Oliva-Enrich (CSIC, Madrid, Spain)

Juanjo Rué (Politechnical University of Catalonia, Barcelona, Spain)

J. Arturo Santaballa (University of La Coruña, Spain)

Scheme of the II “Julio Palacios” International Symposium


619258347 231020141094


03 Simbolo logo cor




Emblema oficial RSEF



"You may also want to visit the webpage of the 11th Congress on Electronic Structure Principles and Applications (ESPA-2018) which will be held in Toledo, Spain, The week after the Symposium, on 17-19 July 2018"